PDPcandidates wins Bagudo/Suru Fedederal Constituency

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared MalamBello Kaoje of PDP as the winner of Bagudo/Suru Federal Constituency re-runelection held on Saturday.

The Returning Officer, Mr Shehu Abubakar of Othman Danfodio University,Sokoto, announced that Kaoje secured 74,232 votes to beat Malam Garba Abdullahiof CPC, who scored 17527 votes.

The re-run election, which held on Saturday alongside the re-rungovernorship election in the state, was necessitated by the annulment of the electionconducted in April 2011.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that the Election Petition Tribunalin Kebbi had nullified the election of Kaoje in April and awarded victory tothe CPC candidate in the election

However, the PDP candidate appealed against the judgment at the Court ofAppeal in Kaduna, which cancelled the results in 154 polling units, which werethe cause of the legal dispute.

Meanwhile, the CPC Secretary, Malam Bashir Matawalle, has said that theparty would challenge the result because INEC it the mandatory 14 days noticebefore conducting the election.

NAN recalls that INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, had told the CPC at astakeholders’ meeting before the election to go to court if it was notsatisfied with the commission’s decision.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Latest News


More soon


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “PDPcandidates wins Bagudo/Suru Fedederal Constituency”

  1. April 2, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    There was no justice in that re;run election. Let joint hand stop pdp rigging election

%d bloggers like this: